The Slickers wheel and come again!

1 Comment


In 1979 Tads Record released the original Slickers 'Breakthrough' LP which was produced by Earl Chin and recorded at Lee Perry's Black Ark and Harry J studios in Kingston.

The 9-track LP featured the trio of Roy Beckford, Derrick 'Joe' Crooks and Abraham Green. The group which is best known for their 'Johnnie Too Bad' recording featured in the movie 'The Harder They Come' will see their work reemerging.

In October 2007 Tad's Records re-released the Vinyl LP along with a CD version and bonus tracks featuring two guest artistes.

"The decision was taken to re-release it because of the many requests we have been getting over the years," Tad Dawkins Shared with YardFlex.

"But whenever we do albums we always like the 'brawta' factor so we threw in some bonus tracks just to add a bit of spice to it," Dawkins continued.

The 'brawta' in question are two original singles that were released by Tad’s Records in 1980 – Delroy Wilson's 'Once Upon A Time' and Lloyd Robinson's 'Cuss Cuss'.

These tracks truly enhances the album that has been out of circulation for over 25 years.

"The album is expected to hit the streets any day now. Trust me when I say it will be one for the reggae archives," the producer promised.