New album from Shaggy to be released in May

No Comments

shaggy-photo-1-focused.jpgReggae and dancehall artiste, Shaggy will release his first solo album in six years, Wah Gwaan?!, May 10th. Per a statement, the new record will embody Shaggy's "Jamaican roots, global reach, contagious joy and introspective side." Shaggy first teased the record last November with the release of his new single, "Use Me" (an official music video is set to arrive soon).

An article in Rollingstones Magazine states that Wah Gwaan?! will feature a slew of collaborations, including tracks with 19-year-old Canadian singer Alexander Stewart ("You"), dancehall star Shenseea and singer-songwriter Stacy Barthe ("Supernatural"), Brooklyn dancehall artist Noah Powa ("Money Up") and reggaeton hit-maker Nicky Jam and singer Jason Derulo ("Tic Toc"). The album's producers include Tony CD Kelly, Dave Kelly, Martin Kierszenbaum, iLLWayno, Kizzo and Costi Official.

Wah Gwaan?! marks Shaggy's first solo effort since 2013's Out of Many, One Music. The singer made a surprise return last year with his unexpected collaborative project with Sting, 44/876, which has since been nominated for Best Reggae Album at the Grammys

Prior to the Grammys, Shaggy will host the show's premiere ceremony at the Microsoft Theatre in Los Angeles February 10th. The event will be available to stream live via the Grammy's website starting at 3:30 ET.

Shaggy Wah Gwaan?! Track List

1. "Ketch Mi Up"

2. "Friends" (feat. Gene Noble)

3. "You" (feat. Alexander Stewart)

4. "Praise"

5. "Tic Toc" (feat. Jason Derulo, Nicky Jam)

6. "Wrong Room"

7. "Money Up" (feat. Noah Powa)

8. "Supernatural" (feat. Stacy Barthe, Shenseea)

9. "Make-Up Sex" (feat. Nyanda)