It's Goosebumps from former ARP member Mitch

No Comments

mitch.jpgArmed with a new single, new management and a renewed focus and strategy, Roger Mitchell is once again fully ready to claim his musical space, with the release of his recent single, Goosebumps, an upbeat collaboration with artiste Dolla Coin.

Working harmoniously with Emperor Productions, this singer-songwriter, whose style has been described as "melodious and edgy", blends these elements nicely into Goosebumps, making it a truly infectious single. Noting that the collab has been receiving rave feedback, both from radio and in the streets, the artiste revealed that an accompanying music video is in the works, along with another soon-to-be-released single.

This former member of the now defunct but popular reggae group, ARP, found fame with the outfit in the late nineties into early 2000, and even after ARP disbanded, he continued singing. Better known to his fans simply as Mitch, he explains that this is the name he still uses for his solo career.

"Mitch will always be Mitch and of course, some people will continue to say 'Mitch from ARP', but that just shows the power of the group," he says candidly.

Although to some it may seem that Mitch had taken a hiatus from the music scene, he was quick to point out that this was not so.

"Believe it or not I have always been doing music...never stopped. I have been voicing for various producers and getting a lot of promises, but the truth is that nothing happens before the right time and I believe that the time is now," he declared, acknowledging the exceptional efforts of his "family" at Emperor Productions to ensure that everything falls into place.

Not surprisingly, in the last five years Mitch has been frequenting Europe and he has spent extended periods on that continent, in particular, Denmark, where he had been working on an album project with talented Danish producers Søren "Pharfar" Schou and Adi 'Jahdil' Nadri at Food Palace Music in Copenhagen.

His third album, Lucky, was released on November 25 last year on Danish label, Icedrop Records and it is available on all digital platforms. According to Mitch, Lucky is an intoxicating mix of Reggae, Jazz Funk and African beats.

"Pharfar is the same producer who worked with late Danish reggae singer Natasja Saad, and it was really a great experience doing this album with him and Jahdil," Mitch explained.

Sorry, the first single from the 11-track album, is described as a "warm and sizzling reggae version of Justin Bieber's original" with the video being shot in Old Harbour.

According to their bio, it was in 1998 that ARP released the classic 'I Want Your Body', which established the group. A series of noteworthy hits followed including, 'Return Of The Mac', 'Girls Dem Cry', 'Song For Mama', 'Really Want You', 'The Girl Dem Want', a cover version of K-Ci And JoJo's 'All My Life', and a team up with Patra on 'True Love'. ARP also enjoyed particular success in the dancehall with, 'Di Gal Dem Want' and in combination with U.T. Dread 'Youths Dem Play', riding the 'Cloak & Dagger' rhythm. In 1999, the band joined Penthouse Records where they released 'Temple Of The Lord' and worked on an album with producer Donovan Germain.