LASCO Top Cop 2016-2017: The Final 12 - A group of outstanding gentlemen

No Comments

lasco-top-cop-finalists.jpgThe LASCO/ Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) Police Officer of the Year 2016-2017 will be selected from a crop of fine gentlemen officers.

The final 12 are: Sgt. Gladstsone Sealy from Area 1; Cons. Chadwin Headlam from Area 2; Cons. Shevaughn Andre Gossett Reid from Area 3; Sgt. Kidan McKoy from Area 4; Det/Cons. Dameian Haye from Area 5; Cpl. Selvin Joseph Smith from the National Police College of Jamaica; Sgt. Nickoyn Brown from Personnel; Cpl. Denton Daniel Gordon from Counter Terrorism and Organized Crime; Cons. Dameian Johnson from Major Organised Crime and Anti-Corruption Agency; Sgt. Lloyd Washington Jones from the Inspectorate of Constabulary; Cons. Odaine Williams from Company 3; and Cpl. Kimaryo Pinnock from Motorized Patrol.

This year's LASCO Top Cop entrants have all complied with the new standards of filing statutory declaration and other obligations, as well as being compliant with the JCF. In addition, nominees were required to have served the JCF for at least five years and have a strong work ethic and communication skills. The participants were also considered based on professionalism, knowledge of, not only the policies and procedures governing the JCF, but local and international affairs.

The evaluation continues with a Week of Activities scheduled from March 6-10. These five days will truly serve as a small taste of the work and role of a LASCO Top Cop. This Year's Finalists will participate in a Youth Project Day on Monday, March 7 with a Peace March and Football Competition. The march will start at the Kingston YMCA and end at the JCF Community Safety and Security Branch on Ruthven Road.

The 2016-17 LASCO/JCF Police Officer of the Year will receive the coveted LASCO/JCF Champion Trophy along with a $250,000 cash prize; the first and second runner-ups will also receive a trophy and a $200,000 and $100,000 cash prize respectively.

Detective Sergeant Lindo will pass on the duties as LASCO/JCF Police Officer of the Year at an awards ceremony on Wednesday, March 30 at the Jamaica Pegasus.