PNP tun up di ting for the local government election

No Comments
The People's National Party (PNP) yesterday made a triumphant return local government. The PNP won 13 of the 14 local authorities. They also won 11 of the 12 parish councils as well as the Kingston and St Andrew Corporation (KSAC) and the Portmore Municipality.

Of the 227 divisions, the PNP won 149, while the Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) took 76. Independents won two divisions. The two Independent candidates who won in yesterday's elections are Lester Crooks in the Riverside division of West Hanover and Paul Patmore in the Lorrimers division in South Trelawny.

The win for the PNP adds to the general election success achieved in the December 29, 2011 polls. Then, the PNP won 42 seats to the JLP's 21 in the 63-seat House of Representatives.

Among the winners in yesterday's election is Daren Powell, the former West Indies fastbowler, who contested the Malvern division in the St Elizabeth Parish Council for the PNP. Powell polled 1,687 votes to the Jamaica Labour Party's (JLP) Donald Simpson, who got 1,326 votes.

Less than 30 per cent of the people voted in yesterday's election and a few of the seats were determined by fewer than a dozen votes.

The preliminary count in the Montego Bay South East Division is now indicating a tie between the Jamaica Labour Party's Heroy Clarke and the People's National Party's Knollis King. But they have now been adjusted to show Clarke polled 1,329 votes to King's 1,329