PNP takes 41 seats to the JLP's 22

No Comments

The party led by Portia Simpson Miller has returned to government after taking the majority of the 63 seats. The PNP have taken 41 and the JLP 22 of the 63 seats. It had been expected to be a close race, but in the end the PNP secured a strong win. The economy was key to the campaign, with unemployment running at over 12% - many of the PNP's core supporters are those who have been directly affected by the downturn. Mrs Simpson Miller, also known as Sister P by supporters, was seen to appeal to the working class and mobilised their vote. The Jamaican Labour Party is more conservative, and more closely-linked to Jamaica's business community. The JLP leader, Andrew Holness, was only sworn in a couple of months ago after Bruce Golding stepped down due to his lack of popularity. At 39, Mr Holness was Jamaica's youngest PM and the second shortest serving. Meanwhile, several newcomers from the PNP are set to take seats in Parliament. They include Damion Crawford, Lloyd B. Smith, Arnaldo Brown, Dr. Lynvale Bloomfield, Patrick Atkinson, Andre Hylton, Sharon Ffolkes Abrahams, Denise Daley, Mickael Phillips, Paul Buchanan, Dayton Campbell, Keith Walford, Richard Parchment and Joylan Silvera. Some former PNP Parliamentarians are back. They include Horace Dalley and Richard Azan. Among the well known JLP candidates who were defeated are Robert Montague, Clive Mullings, Ernest Smith, Andrew Gallimore, Laurie Broderick, Sharon Hay-Webster, Othneil Lawrence and Michael Stern.
Enhanced by Zemanta