New board for PBCJ

No Comments
After several months without an active board, a new 19-member  board has been appointed for a three-year period to the Public Broadcasting Corporation of Jamaica (PBCJ) .
Prominent Attorney, George Soutar, has been appointed Chairman, effective September 13.
His deputy is Attorney-at-Law, Arlene-Harrison Henry.
Information Minister, Daryl Vaz says the delay was necessary as the government moved to introduce new legislation governing the PBCJ's  operations.
 "Well it  has been long in coming. We hadserious issues in terms of amending legislation so we could appoint a board. It took longer than expected and I'm very happy that it has been approved by Cabinet" said Mr. Vaz.
The Board includes Merris Murray; Delroy A. Gordon; Journalist,Jennifer Grant; and Sandra Bennett.
Noted educator, Ray Howell; Afika Thompson; Adrienne Pinnock and Princess Lawes are also among the appointees.
Other members of the new board are former Sportscaster, Ian Andrews; Whitney Givans; Glenford Smith; and Businessman, Arnold J.J. Foote.
Rounding off the list of PBCJ board appointees are Reverend Lenworth Anglin and Dr. Alma Blair.
The Financial Secretary and the PBCJ's Chief Executive Officer or their nominees, as well as employee nominee, Kimberly Clarke, will also serve as board members.
Enhanced by Zemanta