VP Records & Warner Music Nashville Break New Ground on Reggae's Gone Country

No Comments

VP Records and Warner Music Nashville  will release 'Reggae's Gone Country' on August 30, a seamless musical dialogue between Kingston and Nashville that connects the roots of both genres. The ground-breaking compilation features classic country hits covered by Jamaica's top musicians  (Beres Hammond, Tarrus Riley, Tessanne Chin, Etana, Luciano, Sly & Robbie) as well as supporting vocals provided by original recording artist and country icon Larry Gatlin of The Gatlin Brothers.
Country music devotee Cristy Barber, Vice President of Marketing and Promotions at VP Records, the world's largest reggae label, and a Grammy nominated producer for the 2003 dancehall reggae-hip hop compilation album Def Jamaica, envisioned this project two years ago and teamed up on lead production with John Rich of the multi-platinum selling country duo Big & Rich and the winner of this year's Celebrity Apprentice, and the acclaimed Jamaican saxophonist and top reggae producer Dean Fraser.
"Reggae's Gone Country is taking some of Jamaican's favorite classic American country songs and putting their beats and whole instrumentation around it while still having that root of country... It is this crazy cool idea," says John Rich.
The majority of the album was recorded at Kingston's Grafton and the Marley owned Tuff Gong Studios. The tracks were mixed by Errol and Shane Brown, then sent to Nashville where they were embellished with country instrumentation by legendary pedal steel player Mike Johnson and Jonathan Yudkin on fiddle/ banjo with John Rich overseeing the production at Fireside Studios, formerly owned by the late country legend Porter Wagoner.
Barber hopes that the heartfelt renditions of country classics heard on 'Reggae's Gone Country' will introduce and educate music fans everywhere to the talent that exists in Jamaica.
Track Listing:
1. California - Romain Virgo & Larry Gatlin
2. He'll Have To Go - Luciano
3. Wolverton Mountain - Richie Stephens
4. Crazy - Etana
5. The Chair - Tarrus Riley
6. He Stopped Loving Her Today - Beres Hammond
7. Suspicions - Duane Stephenson
8. Don't It Make My Brown Eyes - Tessanne Chin
9. Feel So Right - Gramps Morgan
10. King Of The Road - Freddie McGregor
11. El Paso - Sanchez
12. Flowers On The Wall - L.U.S.T.
13. The Gambler - Busy Signal
14. Straight Tequila Night - Tarrus Riley [iTunes Bonus Track]

Enhanced by Zemanta