Bolt & Campbell-Brown tops nominations for Sportsman and woman of the Year Awards

No Comments

Two Lift Time Achiever Awards will replace the Chairman Award at next month's Jamaican Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards ceremony.

However, the highlight of the January 21 event will be the naming of the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year, to be headed by Usain Bolt and Veronica Campbell-Brown.

Joining Bolt in the male category are Nesta Carter, Lerone Clarke, Asafa Powell, Jermaine Gonzales, Dorian Scott, skier Errol Kerr, along with cricketers Chris Gayle and Brendon Nash.

Campbell-Brown meanwhile is the clear favourite after winning the world 60m crown and running the fastest 100m and 200m times of 2010.

The Trelawny native is joined by Alia Atkinson, Sheree Francis the high jump silver medal winner in New Delhi, two time Commonwealth triple jump champion Tricia Smith, Kaliese Spencer winner of the Diamond League 400m hurdles crown, cricketer Stafanie Taylor and continental cup 400m hurdles winner Nickiesha Wilson.

Campbell-Brown, Carter, Keamar Daley of Tivoli Gardens FC, Gayle, Gonzales and jockey Georgina Sergeon are also nominated for the People's Choice Awards.